The Company Administrator user roles and their permissions

    15543 1 Created on 2021-02-03 14:11:40; Last updated on 2022-07-01 11:01:38

    There are various roles that users can have on Tradeshift, and each role gives certain permissions to fundamental operations on the platform. All of these elements are defined for a user per branch, so a user can have different permissions on different branches.


    The users who have the most control over their company’s account are the Company Administrators, or admins. As opposed to other users, some of the additional permissions of admins include being able to activate apps, add new team members to a company account, and update the company profile.


    Company Admin


    The Company Admin is a standalone role on the Tradeshift platform, which gives the user full access over documents, workflow, connections, user and app permissions. More exactly, the Company Admin is able to do the following on the platform:


    Document permissions:

    • Add, maintain, edit, delete, and dispatch document drafts
    • View and search for documents
    • Change document state
    • Change document state when a workflow is active (Company Admin only)
    • Archive documents
    • View and put tags and properties on a document metadata
    • Comment on document
    • View, execute, create, edit, and delete validations and dynamic validations


    Workflow permissions:

    • Can reject documents, if Reject Document restrictions are enabled
    • Handle workflow errors and reassign work tasks to the appropriate approver


    Connection permissions:

    • Add, update, remove connections
    • Maintain connection properties


    User and account permissions:

    • Add and maintain users
    • Add, remove and maintain business properties (such as spend and approval limits) 
    • Read, edit and delete accounts


    App permissions:

    • Install, approve app installation requests, and remove apps
    • Maintain company properties



    Company Admin without Documents


    The Company Admin without Documents is an add-on role, meaning that it cannot be assigned to a user on its own. In this case, the user must have at least one basic role in a branch to function properly. The Company Admin without Documents user can manage the company account and network connections, but cannot see or manage any documents.


    The Company Admin without Documents has the same permissions as a Company Admin, except for those related to managing documents and apps:


    Connection permissions:

    • Add, update, remove connections
    • Maintain connection properties



    User and account permissions:

    • Add and maintain users
    • Add, remove and maintain business properties (such as spend and approval limits) 
    • Read, edit and delete accounts

    Click here to learn more about adding team members to an account, and to see a breakdown of the available roles on the platform.


    1 people found this helpful.

    Related Articles